Skip to main content

Mars Area School District

Mobile Menu Toggle

School Board Welcomes New Member, Reorganizes for Upcoming Year

Mars Area School Board has reorganized for 2024.

The Board re-elected John Kennedy as Board President; Sallie Wick as Board Vice President; and Anthony DePretis as Board Treasurer. Other Board members are Jennifer DiCuccio, Kevin Hagen, Justin Miller, Lee Ann Riner and Nicole Thurner

Aron RoseThe Board also welcomed a new member, Aaron Rose, who works in the field of human resources and labor relations. A Mars resident, he holds a master’s degree in industrial and labor relations from Indiana University of Pennsylvania and a bachelor’s degree in psychology from Slippery Rock University.

The Board appointed Kevin Hagen and Aaron Rose to serve on the Mars Planet Foundation Board of Directors; and Justin Miller to serve on the Butler County Area Vocational-Technical School Authority Board with Anthony DePretis as an alternate.

Also of note, the Board set its 2024 meeting dates. Work Sessions and Regular Meetings will continue to be held at 7 p.m. on the first and second Tuesday of each month, respectively, with a few exceptions: Jan. 9 and 16; Feb. 6 and 13; March 5 and 12; April 3 (Wednesday) and 9; May 7 and 14; June 5 (Wednesday) and 11; July 16; Aug. 6 and 13; Sept. 3 and 10; Oct. 1 and 8; Nov. 6 (Wednesday) and 12; and Dec. 4 (Wednesday). Board Finance Meetings are scheduled at 6 p.m. on Tuesday, Feb. 13, and Tuesday, April 9

All meetings are open to the public and are typically held in the boardroom at the District’s Administration Office (545 Route 228, Mars). Any change in venue and/or information regarding virtual meetings will be announced appropriately.

For more information, call (724) 625-1518.